Click CEOP Internet Safety button

 QEGS logo



Queen Elizabeth's Grammar School Horncastle

The Physics department consists of four teachers. One teacher also teaches Geology. Physics is a popular subject at A level with roughly one in three students taking Physics in year 12.

Year 7 students take a combined science course. Students in year 8 start Physics as a separate subject and by the middle of year 9 we start the AQA GCSE Physics course, taking advantage of the overlap between the KS3 National Curriculum for science and the GCSE course.

About two thirds of our students take separate science GCSEs in Biology, Chemistry and Physics. The other third take the Combined Science: Trilogy course. 

In years 12 and 13 students take the AQA A level Physics course. This is a new course for 2015. It includes 12 standard experiments that students are assessed on.