Back to top

Queen Elizabeth's Grammar School Horncastle

Our Governors

Horncastle Education Trust (HET) comprises five schools; Banovallum School, Frithville Primary School, Huttoft Primary & Nursery School, New York Primary School and Queen Elizabeth’s Grammar School. 

The trust was formed in December 2018 from a genuine desire to work more closely together following the success of existing partnership work between the schools.  Having both secondary and primary schools that are geographically close is something we take a pride in as a trust.  At HET all schools are in equal partnership irrespective of their size, phase of education, length of membership or Ofsted category.  

All governance flows from the Trust Board which has the legal responsibility for the operation of its trust. The trustees and the CEO at HET are accountable by law for the educational outcomes and financial diligence of the trust and all our schools.  We also believe that each school’s local governing body is best placed to meet the needs of their children and local community. Local governors are appointed by the trust as set out in our Scheme of Delegation

 QEGS Local Governing Body

Name Category Appointed by Term of Office dates
Mr Paul Brewster (Chair) Community HET Trust Board 11.10.2022 – 10.10.2026
Mrs Alison Hurrell (Vice Chair) Community HET Trust Board 26.04.2022 - 25.04.2026
Mrs Heather Freeman Staff HET Trust Board 20.02.2024 - 19.02.2028
Mr Simon Furness Ex-Officio
Dr Oghenovo Efekodo Community HET Trust Board 04.09.2023 - 03.09.2027
Mr Mohit Gupta Parent HET Trust Board 04.09.2023 - 03.09.2027
Miss Susan How Staff HET Trust Board 14.12.2021 - 13.12.2024
Mr Martin Obermuller Community HET Trust Board
13.12.2022 - 12.12.2026
Mr Luke Smith Community HET Trust Board 20.02.2024 - 19.02.2028
Mr Stephen Thornley Parent HET Trust Board 04.09.2023 - 03.09.2027
Dr Pavlos Zafeiris Community HET Trust Board

20.02.2024 - 19.02.2028


Governor Resignations within the past 12 months

Mr Ian Tyler Parent HET Trust Board 11.10.2022 - 21.07.2023
Mr Jason Kwee Staff HET Trust Board

11.10.2022 - 21.07.2023

Mrs Isabella Remizo-Clarke Community HET Trust Board 13.12.2022 - 23.09.2023
Mr Nabeel Bhatti Community HET Trust Board 30.11.2020 - 03.10.2023 
Dr David Hufton Community HET Trust Board 13.12.2022 - 14.11.2023


Clerking Support

Clerking support is provided by the trust governance team, you can contact them if you have any questions about our governing body or the trust board.

View a summary of governor attendance at meetings.

View a summary of governor business interests.


Local Governing Bodies

LGBs know their schools best and are essential for ensuring each school performs academically. The trust board has responsibility for establishing LGBs, appointing a chair, ensuring parent governors are appointed and will determine what will be delegated.

Typical responsibilities include:

    • Recruitment of staff, including the Headteacher.

    • Understanding how the school is led and managed.

    • Monitoring whether the school is:

      • Working within agreed policies.

      • Meeting the agreed targets.

      • Managing its finances well.

      • Reporting to the trust board.

      • Delivering on its objectives to provide a broad and balanced curriculum which meets the needs of its pupils.

      • Ensuring highly effective communication with parents, the wider community and key stakeholders.

The structure of the LGBs is outlined in the trust’s Scheme of Delegation.

If you are interested in becoming a school governor or you wish to contact our Chair of Governors, please contact us.